Chocolate Wonderland

What a delectable evening!

The night sets after being with my friends on a hot summer day. It’s been almost a week since I’ve last seen them. I’ve resigned from my job and I’m loosening things up for a bit. It’s the best time to seize the constant rush of adrenaline.

I’ve been having tea most of the time with my friends, especially last weekend in Hong Kong. Tea was noteworthy in Hong Kong. One of the things which is not much popular in Asian countries, though, are chocolates.

I barely had any chocolates lately apart from Starbucks’ Java Chip frappe. Chocolate also counts as my addiction (aside from video games, and coffee).

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
“Chocolate also counts as my addiction”

Luckily, we came across the Shangrila Chocolate Festival!


We went in for no apparent reason. Perhaps it’s a human instinct to be drawn to chocolate?

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Delectable.

It was my chance try chocolates that I’ve never tried before. Specifically, chocolate based not only from western countries but in the Philippines. In most booths and brands, free samples are prepared. It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to have chocolate served for free! I was assertive because of my love for chocolate!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Aside from Davao, chocolate beans are also produced in Bohol.

Toblerone, Cadbury, and Almond Roca had made their way to the festival but no one was much interested (and I understand why). It was a chance for small chocolate brands to shine their glory into this event. I made a bold move to get to know unfamiliar chocolates.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Marks and Spencer chocolates looked fabulous as their apparel
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Villa del Conte Cioccolato’s name suggests how fancy they already are.

I’ve never thought that local chocolate would taste better than I expected. Oddly enough, they tasted better than some foreign brands. Most of these chocolates use local ingredients which, of course, made a few distinct tastes. Some of them guaranteed a healthy chocolate that uses coconut sugar. An ingredient that’s said not to spike insulin levels and therefore to avoid diabetes. Coco Dolce did exactly that to their chocolate and the taste is still great!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
“Some of them guaranteed a healthy chocolate that uses coconut sugar. An ingredient that’s said not to spike insulin levels and therefore to avoid diabetes. Coco Dolce did exactly that.”

Some chocolates boast their twists in flavor. One of the most popular trend food days is matcha. Matcha on tea, matcha on cake, and definitely matcha on chocolate. Everywhere, there is matcha! I’ve grown out of it before it was popular. So, sadly, I didn’t dare to try anymore. Yet, I did try chocolate and chili! It sounds very intriguing because it’s hard to make the connection. Imagine just normal chocolate but with a spicy aftertaste. It’s alright but it’s still strange.

Theo & Philo seems to be the expert on odd kinds of blends. They do have normal chocolates like dark and milk, also chocolate with pili nuts to line up beside other nutty chocolates (cashew, almond, walnut, etc.). But, they have dark chocolate with calamansi (Philippine lime) for a tangy aftertaste, and also the dark chocolate with mint and ginger. These are really strange tasted especially the one with the ginger! While the mint blends well, the ginger really gives a strong spikey aftertaste! All I can say is it strangely blends fine. Yet, I’m alright with their dark chocolate with kapeng barako (Strong coffee originating in the Philippines). Two of my favorite taste crammed inside a bar like magic!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
“Theo & Philo seems to be the expert on odd kinds of blends.”

Some brands are responsible for coated local fruits. Chocolate coated mangos are being sold in the local market today. In my case, I would still go for chocolate coated bananas. Cacao de Davao served a more odd deal, however, with their chocolate coated durian. Durian was always strange and the chocolate can make it either more strange or less strange depending on preference.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
“Cacao de Davao served a more odd deal, however, with their chocolate covered durian.”

Local brands seem also to compete with their luxury brands. Sadly, none offered a free taste. They did get the look and feel of a lucrative chocolate brand but I’ve yet to experience the taste. I remember my parents rarely buy me and my older a brother a piece of Leonida’s. That’s the best chocolate I’ve every tried. Only time will tell if local luxury chocolate would still have a long way to go or not.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
“I’ve yet to experience the taste.”

Last but not the least were the chocolate cakes! When we go to our grandpa’s house, we always have a Hungry Pac cake for desert. A pacman looking character is the face of their products and the chocolate cake was their signature product. The sweetness level was adequate and not too strong nor sweet. We have a high sugar level so we found to love this one. There was no free taste and this on is a personal recommendation.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
“A pacman looking character is the face of their products and the chocolate cake was their signature product.”

There was another cake that I tasted in which I loved. It tasted very creamy and moves away from the traditional look of a cake. The texture was also good and solid. It also tasted light because of the creaminess. It was a heavenly cake! Too bad I wasn’t able to remember the brand!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
“The texture was also good and solid. It also tasted light because of the creaminess. It was a heavenly cake!”

Craving satisfied.

unnamed-12.jpg

That ends all the sweetness of the day! I’ve had too much already!! The next thing I bought was a bottle of water (for obvious reasons). My tummy was overjoyed from all the sweetness. Filipino chocolates are amazing after all! One day I’ll hope to go across the western countries to try other amazing chocolates!

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
Acknowledging all owners and chocolate experts!

Do you like chocolate? What kind of chocolate do you recommend?

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Wonderland

  1. Emily

    This is a sweet article. They all look delicious. The way you describe them was impeccable. I like the way you narrate your experience, but it sounds a bit lonely.

    You should try Alenka Chocolate. It is from our country. The way it glistened when it melted and the way it crumbled when it was hard. In my mouth it turned to liquid and let me discover new pleasure. Once it was finished, all eaten I mean, my heart ached and want for more. This will surely put delight to your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your recommendations! Alenka looks looks delicious! I would love to try that! Hopefully I could scavenge grocery stores for that! I agree, great chocolate will always be delightful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

