Kirby’s Blowout Blast

Happy 25th Anniversary to the cute and adorable Kirby!

As part of the celebration, I’ll be delving into Kirby’s latest game:
Kirby’s Blowout Blast.

WVW69kdc1kkdt-OzOB

For the first time ever, Kirby explores the environment in full 3D! Moving away from the traditional platforming mechanic it used for years. The full explorable 3D environment is already present in many Nintendo games for generations now since Mario 64 and Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and they were highly successful titles! Finally, it’s Kirby’s turn! With that said, let’s begin.

For only $6.99 in the Nintendo 3DS eShop, this is more than what I bargained for! I got a fully explorable 3D game with numerous levels, stunning visuals and sounds, a fun gameplay, adorable characters, and a sweet little amiibo support. However, what really set a good standard of this series is the exploration, which I’ll be talking about later.

 

WVW69kdedNQvHE_estWVW69kddtI8DuPt-zxWVW69kdfGxMpsdjirZ

 

First, let’s see look at the gameplay. At first, I didn’t know the main goal of the game. I just downloaded it because of the nostalgia. Therefore, I didn’t know that copying enemy abilities isn’t available. I was quite saddened. Though, I did discover that it’s possible to inhale multiple enemies at once and launch huge Blaster Bullets into troops of enemies! This feature makes this game so fun and doing it is really satisfying!

WVW69kdew5kDK-qr5CDoing the combos correctly will then amount to higher scores and a high score means a gold medal for a level. It’s not that hard to know which group of enemies to inhale and which enemies to blast as the game makes that obvious. Batches of enemies will come out of nowhere and then inhale them to blast the next incoming group. The game prompts that kind of mechanic to gain score. This kind of feature makes this game feel like a mix between action-adventure and puzzle.

WVW69kdc4wgbCC8wGlWVW69keVcqohSAlwCX (1)I mentioned there are levels in this game. Each one looks stunning especially the added depth when the 3D slider on! Dream Land was always a colorful world, and now with the explorable 3D environment, Dream Land was given a new depth. Just as the game starts, we have the capability to explore everything around the level select area.

What holds this back, is actually the particularly small levels. Despite the 3D exploration, it still felt linear when the goal is to reach point A to B. Sure Mario 64 and Super Mario 3D World use the level system but they made players feel the freedom. In Kirby’s Blowout Blast, levels felt very little and limited.

WVW69kdeiHMvzQWmEqWVW69kdeg2g1S6kMxpWhat makes the levels a little bit different are the boss levels. Iconic characters have found its way in the boss battles. They look adorable even though they have angry eyes. The problem was for me is that I felt the lack of more iconic bosses. Lololo had made it in the game which is okay at first but appearing again with Lalala with same fighting mechanic makes it a bit repetitive. I like the addition of Kracko Jr. The thunder based attacks are distinctive, but again, having Kracko later doing almost the same tactics is a bit dry. In my opinion, I wish they could have added Whispy Woods or Bonkers. I’d love to see what new things Whispy Woods could do in a 3D environment.

WVW69keVqKAOHS1G5ZWVW69kdfX9M_EqZV08Earlier I said that you get gold medals for high points. Getting gold medals rewards the players with EX levels which are tweaked versions of the original levels. These are particularly harder but especially when aiming for the gold medals. These levels are also set at night which is a great touch. However, they still recycle the boss battles from the original levels which is kind of sad. Also, it feels somewhat repetitive as time passes. At least, the EX levels make this game longer and feel like a major title than a mini game.


WVW69kde_MowzCQiACOverall, this is still a great game for me! There has been full on effort to create this new perspective into a Kirby game and there are lots of surprises in store from start to end! What I really love here is the final boss fight! I also love the 3D in this game and it looks gorgeous! For 3DS owners, I suggest getting this on eShop. It’s a good game when having simple fun!

P.S.
With the release of this game, perhaps HAL Laboratory, developer of Kirby games, is currently on the development of an open world Kirby game. I have my hopes up on this! That would be great considering the Nintendo Switch have open world games such as The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and an anticipated Super Mario Odyssey. It’s still great to have Kirby do the same. For now, let’s enjoy the great creation of Kirby’s Blowout Blast and happy 25th anniversary to Kirby!

WVW69kdfBeQKzeQ03j

Thank you!
3 thoughts on “Kirby’s Blowout Blast

  1. Maybe I should try this game. BTW I wanted to nominate you for a Mystery Blogger Award. If that’s fine with you. “Mystery Blogger Award” is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.
    – Okoto Enigma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a good lengthy game considering the very few levels! You should try! I think Kirby deserves something grandeur for the Nintendo Switch!

      BTW, THANK YOU so much for nominating me! I would love to accept the nomination! I haven’t been active recently due to my new work, and events, but in line with the award, I will be more active! This means so much to me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

